Lot’s and Lots of Editing!

Writing:
Guess what I spent most of my day on? Give up? Editing. When I got started working on A Pirate’s Tale I had planned to edit maybe six thousand words over the coarse of several hours. Several hours later I took a short break and when I got in front of my computer again I decided not to stop the edits. I figured it would be better to get one project completed so that I could have better focus for the other projects. By six o’clock I made the final edits and sent the story to Lady Luck Publishing.

With that done I ate some dinner and got a little bit more done on PIG: The Haunted Brothel. I didn’t get as much as I wanted done, but I made some headway and I really like the way this one is turning out. Now, if you cringe upon seeing the title of this story…well, don’t. It’s a working title and there is a good chance it will change – hopefully for the better.

One thing I didn’t make any progress on is Plague. I can justify that though as I got waaaaay ahead of schedule last week.

Well, that is it for today as far as writing goes. Tomorrow I will focus my complete attention on PIG: The Haunted Brothel and next week knock out some more on Plague.

Shaylee: Druid’s Staff
The second novella in the Shaylee series.

PIG: The Haunted Brothel (Working Title)
A Scooby Do style novella for adults.

Plague
Sword and sorcery fantasy novel. Completed but in final edits.

Reading:
Haven’t so much as cracked a book open today. If reading my own stuff counts then, Yeah, I read. Otherwise…no.

Personal Life:
Had a good time last night with family and friends at…are you ready…Okey Dokey’s. Yeah, there is actually a night club/bar called Okey Dokey’s. I can’t knock it too much though because it served it’s purpose since I had a good time with everyone and got to listen to my brother-in-law and his band play some great music.

I also got a birthday card from my sister in the mail, which was nice. I’m turning 43 next Sunday. Forty-friggin’-three! I sure don’t feel like a 43 year old. Okay, I’ll admit that my eyes are rapidly going to hell…and my hair is turning gray…and I have to take acid reducers every time I eat anything spicier than a peanut butter sandwich, but all that aside I don’t feel no friggin’ 43 – man, that’s old!

Okay, that about sums up my day. Now for a relaxing evening with a movie and a beer or two…or three…or more.

~ by bretjordan on August 29, 2010.

6 Responses to “Lot’s and Lots of Editing!”

  1. Good job Bret. Happy early Birthday ole man

    • Thank you, Mr. Murphy!

      I still have a week before I get really old. Though I say I don’t feel old I do have to admit that I don’t get hyped up about birthdays the way I did when I was five…or twenty-five…or for that matter thirty-five.

  2. Mr. Bret,

    Sir you’re still spry an youngish. You are not old, your more weathered, hardened by the elements. You have experience and knowledge and well I could go on and on. You know I have to say this, right? The forty-third anniversary of my very own birth is zipping its way towards me as well. SO you are not old, if you’re old then I’m old, and I so don’t want to be old with babies still in the house. After they all leave, then I can be old, I’ll have time then to do all the old things that people do.

    Enjoyed your post today. Have a nice evening and a great Sunday.

    WT

    • Yeah, other than the few things I listed I still feel as good as I did at 18 and 43 is just a number.

      Thanks, Wade. I hope you have a great Sunday too!

  3. Gotta admire you. I’m just trying to make sense out of my writing career, and here you are sending your stuff out already. -.-

Leave a Reply

 
