Goodby to The Pigeon

Writing:
Reading:
Personal Life:




Writing:
No edits today. I did manage to knock out 500 words on PIG: The Haunted Brothel. It’s not an epic word count by any stretch of the imagination, but after working all day then going to the gym it’s all I could accomplish today without getting sloppy.

Shaylee: Druid’s Staff
The second novella in the Shaylee series.

PIG: The Haunted Brothel (Working Title)
A Scooby Do style novella for adults.

Plague
Sword and sorcery fantasy novel. Completed but in final edits.




Reading:
I finished the first short story in Monsters by Paul Melniczek last night. It wasn’t a long story, but I got a late start.

When I got home from the gym there was a box with three signed Cherie Priest novels in it from the University Books store in Seattle. The books are Four and Twenty Blackbirds, Wings to the Kingdom and Not Flesh nor FeathersThe Eden Moore Collection. This just about catches me up on my signed Cherie Priest novels.




Personal Life:
It was a typical Monday at work. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had much worse Mondays, but it was still a Monday and it is what it is. Did the usual IT stuff, set up a new printer and made a short cut to our Terminal Server on the boss’ desktop – yeah, real complicated stuff like that. To spice it all up I even did a little programming.

There was a tragedy at work today. Last week a pigeon landed at the doorstep of our office. Doesn’t sound too interesting yet, does it? Well, this particular pigeon, who we all called The Pigeon followed us around like a puppy from Wednesday to Friday. He even flew up and landed on my coworker’s shirt and nested there like the guy was his best friend. Heck, he was sleeping in the doorway to greet us as we went through.

Well today The Pigeon is no more. While hanging out in the parking lot someone accidentally ran over him. Now, I have no idea how anyone could run over a bird while backing up out of a parking slot. Heck, they are hard to hit at 70 mph while going down the freeway, but that’s what happened. It was a grizzly sight as we saw parts of the bird that weren’t meant to be seen by anything but a veterinarian.

It’s sad because the little guy was really unique. I mean I have never seen a bird so tame. If I had a larger cage at the house and no cats I would have brought the guy home for my daughters. They would have loved him. I even brought a bag of wild bird seed to work today. It now sits in the kitchen unopened.

Mr. The Pigeon we at the LNVA will dearly miss you.

~ by bretjordan on August 31, 2010.

2 Responses to “Goodby to The Pigeon”

  1. Mr. Bret,

    Such a sad ending to creature meant to soar. Perhaps, and I don’t want to disparage his memory in any way, but perhaps he was ill. It might be why it was so easy for him to be around people.

    I am glad to hear you IT guys are able to sharpen your skills every now and then. I have a growing animosity for some of the ones here. Some are great and know exactly how to fix issues. However there are some, whose greatest ability is redirecting your call.

    I am enjoying you daily diary. It is interesting seeing what you do, and how you think. I’m getting a more complete picture of who this Mr. Bret A. Jordan really is. Thank you.

    Have a fine day.

    • It is sad, but I’m almost positive that The Pigeon wasn’t sick. The little fellow was sharp and alert and when he didn’t see anyone for a while at one of our offices he would waddle down to the other office door where there was more activity. Anyway, he looked pretty healthy. I think his death resulted from a misunderstanding of the dangers posed by hanging around humans – he seemed to be friendly, but not very smart.

      Normally I do programming (Wonderware, Visual Basic and HTML/JAVA) and field troubleshooting, but when there’s a call about the really hard stuff like installing printer software, plugging in a USB cable or creating a shortcut on a desktop I get to deal with those too. I often cringe when I get a call, but I always find out what the problem is and try to deal with it.

      Thanks for reading, Wade. Putting this blog together is actually sort of fun and helps me hone my writing skills a little bit.

Leave a Reply

 
