Goodby August

Writing:
Reading:
Personal Life:



Writing:
A lot of authors use a pen name. I never have, but the thought has crossed my mind. I think I have the perfect name picked out if I should ever decide to use one – Stephen King. It’s a really catchy name that I think readers would find interesting. I even imagine it would help sell a few books. I also thought about going with John Ronald Reuel Tolkien, but that one is just has too many middle names and I don’t think it would catch on.

I made some progress on the Plague edits today. To be honest I have a critique reader going over the final piece and I edit as I get her comments back. I really appreciate her taking the time to point out my numerous spelling and grammar errors not to mention that she has already found a plot hole that I patched up. She lets me know when things aren’t clear and when things aren’t working for her and I am finding her to be a very valuable asset that I greatly appreciate. So, Mrs. Nay, if you happen to stop by and read this…thank you!

I am now past the ‘raunchy’ part in PIG: The Haunted Brothel. That isnt’ to say that if they made a movie Ron Jeremy would be the star. No, nothing so graphic as that, but for the story to be published through Purple Sword Publishing it’s got to have at least a little romance. This story and scene required just a little more than light romance, but it doesn’t fall all the way into erotica either. The camera pans away as the action get’s too lively.

I know you may be wondering, “Bret, why does the camera pan away? It’s being sold on a Romance/Erotica site.” I have a couple of stories out there through LoveYouDivine.com and…well…full erotica stuff just isn’t for me. It makes me uncomfortable. I think, “What in the hell would my mom think of this?” and “God help me if the guys at work read this.”. Not to say that some future story might get a bit spicy, but if it does it will be because the story required it, not spicy for spicy’s sake. For instance, A Night to Remember starts out spicy…real spicy, but in order to get the story across I had to do it. I would still cringe if my mom read it, but I would stand proudly by and say it had to be that way.

Anyway, I’m past the ‘raunchy’ part. The spooky stuff is coming up soon. Bwahahahahaha

Shaylee: Druid’s Staff
The second novella in the Shaylee series.

PIG: The Haunted Brothel (Working Title)
A Scooby Do style novella for adults.

Plague
Sword and sorcery fantasy novel. Completed but in final edits.



Reading:
Last night I continued reading Monsters by Paul Melniczek. I still didn’t get to read a whole lot, but I finished two more short stories in the collection.

Monsters by Paul Melniczek

Monsters by Paul Melniczek



Personal Life:
Well, painting the living room caught up with Angela last night. Her back is out. Last week she obsessed over painting and rushed to get it done. I kept telling her to take her time, slow down. Did she listen to me? Heck no. Last night did I say “I told you so.”? Yes, yes I did. I know, I should have taken the ‘high road’ and kept my mouth shut. I should have been sympathetic and understanding. I should have doted over her, brought her dinner at the ring of a bell, ice packs prepared and ready for her, ran her a warm bath and carried her where she needed to go. Yes, I should have done all those things, but instead I said, “I told you so.”

That’s not to say I wasn’t helpful. I did bring her an ice pack, made sure the kids were taken care of and pulled the heating pad out of the bathroom cabinets for her. Still, I just had to let her know that I told her so. It’s probably not right, perhaps even mean and unsympathetic, but I couldn’t help myself. It’s the way I’m wired.

~ by bretjordan on September 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
