Extended Labor Day Holiday

Writing:
Reading:
Personal Life:



Writing:
Writing-wise I took off running first thing this morning and went back over The Haunted Brothel. Notice I’ve changed the working title. The PIG part wasn’t working for me. It holds a certain minor significance in the story, but when plastered on the cover I don’t think it works and even seems a bit crude. I’m worried that the reader will get images of flat pink noses, the smell of hog slop, and a certain oinking noise ringing through their ears when they see PIG in the title. Hence it was removed. I’m still working through whether The Hunted Brothel brings the combination of images I want to the reader. If the cover art is handled correctly, and I think it will be, then this title might convey the balance of humor and horror that I want the title to convey. Anyway, I’m gonna mull it over for the next few days and see what I think.

Shaylee: Druid’s Staff
The second novella in the Shaylee series.

Plague
Sword and sorcery fantasy novel. Completed but in final edits.



Reading:
I’m at the halfway point of Fathom and enjoying it so far. It’s different, much different than what I’m use to reading. The writing sort of has an Anne Rice Gothic feeling about it, sort of like The Witching Hour, but without the sex. Now, I’m not comparing the two stories as far as story lines go because they are not similar in any way. I’m talking about the writing style. Even though I’m still halfway through the novel I’m wondering where this story is going. That’s not a bad thing though. Usually I’ve got a feel for where the story is headed and what the eventual outcome will be by this point. With this story I’ve got a fuzzy guess about where it’s going, but that’s it. I like surprises though so this is working well for me. Like I said, it’s a different kind of story, but I’m enjoying it so far.



Personal Life:
Vacation
Today has been relaxing, and it should be since I’m on vacation. Today and tomorrow and then back to the grind, petty politics and squabbling. It’s really not as bad as all that, but I would still much rather be on vacation than at work.

~ by bretjordan on September 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
