The Return to Plague

Writing:
Reading:
Personal Life:



Writing:

Guess what I did most of the day? Give up? I edited Plague. Yep, I’m back to that story. While working on The Haunted Brothel I fell a bit behind my critiquer, several chapters behind to be exact, and now it’s time to catch back up.

As I went through Mrs. Nay’s critique I was amazed, in a bad way, by all the mistakes that are still in the story – even after I have gone through it a half dozen times. Words misspelled and missing and questionable punctuation. It’s just little things, but little things that I have read several times without having huge red flags go up. Of coarse, anyone who has ever read an email or Facebook post from me is probably shaking their head in understanding.

Not only did I work on Plague, but I also worked on A Pirate’s Tale and sent it back in so they can have one more go at it. I have to hand it to the folks over at Lady Luck Publishing, they want the story to be perfect before they release it. That is a really good thing because I have bought and read too many stories that could have used a good editor or two.

As far as Shaylee: Druid’s Staff goes…I plan to catch up with Plague then work on that story between going over critiques. It’s close though. Real close.

Shaylee: Druid’s Staff
The second novella in the Shaylee series.

Plague
Sword and sorcery fantasy novel. Completed but in final edits.



Reading:

The Fall of Hades
I’ve started another Jeffrey Thomas book entitled The Fall of Hades. I’m enjoying it so far though I’m only about 15% through the story. It’s going to be interesting to see where this story leads.



Personal Life:

Well, it looks like another weekend has gone by without much happening in my personal life. I really need to take the motorcycle out for a spin, but I can’t think of anywhere to go. Maybe I’ll go up to Hemphill again before it gets cold and visit with my friend Byron Starr.

~ by bretjordan on September 12, 2010.

3 Responses to “The Return to Plague”

  1. Glad to see you back on Plague. I’m trying to finish Jennings Grove myself. And if you really want to take a bike ride, come on up to Paris. I’ll even show you the site for Jennings Grove.

  2. Believe it or not I’ve been working on off and on it since it was online. Sometimes I wonder if I’m too skittish about this story. Anyway, I hope to have it published by the end of the year.

    Best of luck with Jennings Grove! You’ve got a heck of a horror story there and I’m looking forward to seeing how that story ends.

    Paris, Texas is a two day drive – which would be cool because I could drive up to Hemphill and see Mr. Starr then head up to Paris and visit with you. I’ll have to do a little planning on that, but it sounds good – sort of a mini-vacation, and seeing the actual site for Jennings Grove would be great.

  3. I’d also show you the house. It’s in a different part of the county.

Leave a Reply

 
