RA Salvatore & Kage Baker

Writing:
Reading:
Personal Life:



Writing:

Still plugging away at Plague. Hopefully I will catch back up with the critiqued chapters by mid-week. Hopefully…

Shaylee: Druid’s Staff
The second novella in the Shaylee series.

Plague
Sword and sorcery fantasy novel. Completed but in final edits.



Reading:

Today I purchased two new books. The first was a pre-order from The Signed Page. RA Salvatore‘s new Drizzt novel entitled Gauntlgrym. This puppy will be signed by both RA Salvatore and Todd Lockwood, the cover artist and headed my way around mid-October.

Gauntlgrym by RA Salvatore

http://www.signedpage.com

The second book I ordered is some steampunk goodness from Subterranean Press. It’s a novella by Kage Baker entitled The Women of Nell Gwynne’s. The blurb says it’s sort of a mid-18th century James Bond story with cool steampunk gadgets and set in London. I haven’t read anything by Kage Baker before, but I’m looking forward to this as it sounds like a pretty good story.

The Women of Nell Gwynne's by Kage Baker
http://www.subterraneanpress.com



Personal Life:

Tinkerbell, my daughter’s cat, has been missing for most of a week. I say my daughter’s cat, but over the years Tinkerbell has favored my wife and I more than any of the kids – probably because we’re the only ones who don’t chase her then hold her down to pet her. Tinkerbell and I weathered out Hurricane Ike together. She isn’t the friendliest cat around, but you can’t take that personally because she isn’t mean either – just a cat who minds her own business and wants to be treated in kind.

Ooops, got off on a tangent there for a minute, didn’t I?

Well, Ms. Tinkerbell showed up today. She’s been in our neighbor’s garage. I really feel bad for her. She is a good cat and won’t whine or cry – not to ask for food or to tell everyone that she has gotten herself into trouble. Normally it’s a quality that I can appreciate in a cat, one that I wish our damned dachshund would learn, but in this instance I wish she would have whined like nobody’s business. We’ve been worried about her all week and a little whining would have saved us the worry, especially my wife, and saved the cat from suffering from dehydration and an empty stomach.

Glad to have her back. It will be good to know that she is sleeping on the end of the bed once again.

~ by bretjordan on September 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
