Kindled the Mistborn Series

Writing:
Reading:
Personal Life:



Writing:

Today was another afternoon of going over Mrs. Nay’s Plague critique and making corrections. Chapter 13 is wrapped up and I’m 66% of the way through the story.

I did a lot of cringing and gasping as I read through the critique. Some of my spelling was creative enough to get me put in the special classes that exist behind any high school. At times there were even two instances of words slapped together where either one would have worked, but not both of them together. Mrs. Nay always left the comment of Pick one or the other. I would have to assume that these were remnants of one of my many other edits where I changed a word, but forgot to take out the old word. Anyway, stuff like that sure does have a tendency to make me look like a complete moron. Other than that, I think the story reads pretty well – and the readers will never see my clumsy mistakes.

Shaylee: Druid’s Staff
The second novella in the Shaylee series.

Plague
Sword and sorcery fantasy novel. Completed but in final edits.



Reading:

Still pecking away at The Fall of Hades. I imagine I will have it wrapped up by tomorrow.

Yesterday I talked with a contractor that comes by the office every once in a while to work on our servers. He’s a huge Dune fan and loves to read science fiction and fantasy novels. Needless to say we always have a lot to talk about. We got on the subject of the Wheel of Time series by the late Robert Jordan and he mentioned the author who will be finishing that series, Brandon Sanderson. He said the guy has a series of his own books out that are pretty good with a truly unique magic concept.

Of course I jumped on it. By the time he left it was lunch so guess what was the first thing I did? Yeah, you guessed it. I went to Amazon and purchased the whole series for my Kindle. Three books: The Final Empire, The Well of Ascension, and The Hero of Ages. I’m reading the Shannara series on my Kindle now so it might be a good while before I get to these, but get to them I one day will.
Mistborn: The Final Empire

Mistborn: The Well of Ascension

Mistborn: The Hero of Ages



Personal Life:

Work and Gym. If something exciting doesn’t happen soon I think I might not even bother mentioning my personal life!

~ by bretjordan on September 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
