To Evaluate Ones Self…

Work:
Writing:
Reading:


Work:

Each year at work all the employees have to fill out a self evaluation form. Well, that magical time of the year has returned. The time when I get to analyze my capabilities as an employee and let management know what I think of myself. It’s the time to answer question number eight and let them know what could be done to improve the working environment. Needless to say I try and make myself look as good as possible. Heck, I’m pretty impressed with myself when it’s all said and done – then I print it out and get back to the hum drum boring stuff I do day in and day out for eight hours a day five days a week and I am reminded of the lies I just wrote down.

Just kidding, I try to give a pretty honest self evaluation.

Now, if I could answer some of these questions colorfully this is how a few of them would go…

Over the past year has there been special circumstances that have hindered you in doing your job?
Well, as a matter of fact there have been. As you well know I write software applications for some of our employees, which normally isn’t a problem. Over the past year I have been asked to write software applications for data entry. One of the stipulations was that all of the users be able to easily enter numbers into the fields. Though this doesn’t sound too difficult there is far more to it than you would at first think. The main problem is that one of the users can’t spell his name without getting at least two of the characters mixed up, so this has presented a problem. I’m still working on a solution. I am currently beta testing it on a lab rat. I might need to find a less intelligent animal so that I can compare apples to apples.

What has been your most significant accomplishment over the past year?
Broke the 7,500 mark in solitaire! Who’s da man!

How could you improve your job performance?
I could leave the bottle in my desk and switch to beer.

How have you exceeded your job requirements?
I don’t mean to be critical, but by my job description this is an impossible question to answer. I don’t know the exact wording, but it goes something like, “You’re job requirements are as outlined above and other duties as requested by your supervisor.” Sort of covers all the bases doesn’t it? I guess I could be precognitive and do stuff before my boss lets me know what he wants done, but if I could do that then I would probably be working a cool job in a circus or something.

What goals do you have for next year?
My main goal is to be at work every other Thursday morning by 9:00 AM to get my check. After that I’m not real sure what you are expecting of me.

What could be changed around the office to make this a better work environment?
Might I suggest replacing the Coke™ machine with one that sales my favorite beer? For the price I’m paying for a Coke™ each day it might as well be beer.

Now, since I don’t block anyone from reading this I want to remind ANY fellow employees who might be reading this that I am only kidding. I’ve never scored any higher than 7,000 at solitaire. 🙂



Writing:

Once again I got a little more writing done. Not as much as I would have liked, but I made some progress and I’m happy with the progress I made. Things are tense between Shaylee and Oren, but isn’t that the way relationships go sometimes.

I have also adjusted the word metrics. 25,000 just won’t be enough so I increased the count to 30,000. Don’t worry, it’s gonna be an extra 5,000 words of good stuff, icing on the cake, the bonus round. I think the readers will agree when they take a look at it.

Shaylee: Druid’s Staff
Word Count: 24,800
Genre: Fantasy
The second novella in the Shaylee series.

Plague
Word Count: 53,400
Genre: Dark Fantasy/Horror
Sword and sorcery dark fantasy novel about a city under siege by zombies. Completed but in final edits.



Reading:

I ordered two more books to add to my to-be-read pile.
Regret by Gabrielle Faust

The first book is Regret by Gabrielle Faust, published by Dark Regions Press

Dread Island by Joe R. Lansdale

The second book I ordered is Dread Island by Joe R. Lansdale, published by Subterranean Press.

~ by bretjordan on September 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
