How a Four-Way STOP Sign Works…

Rant:
Writing:
Reading:


Rant:

4-Way STOP

Why do four-way STOP signs confuse so many people?

There is a four-way STOP near where I work and I go through it every weekday. Over the past seven years I have been amazed by the people who seem dumbfounded by the rules of a four-way STOP. Come on! It’s not that damned difficult. For those of you out there who are confused about how a four-way stop sign works I am about to do you a favor. I’m gonna spell it out for you as simply as I can…

The FIRST one there is the FIRST one who gets to go.

Pretty simple, huh?

This does take a certain amount of concentration on your part. If there is a car pulling up at each STOP sign when you pull up then you will have to play the old memory game and keep in mind the order that the cars arrived in. It can’t be more than four cars so if you’re smart enough to have a drivers license then you should be smart enough to remember what order you arrived in. Of course, every once in a while I wonder if the handicap tag hanging on the rear view mirror was given to the driver because of low a IQ. Not saying that I’m some sort of rocket scientist, ’cause I certainly ain’t. Just making an observation.

There are really just two sort of abuses that I have noticed at a four-way STOP. The ones who don’t stop at all and the ones who stop too long.

The ones who don’t stop at all are the ones who ALWAYS assume they are the first ones there. They act like others aren’t lined up to wait their turn. They just barrel through as though there were no stop at all or at best slow down as though it were a yield sign. And God help you if you let them know that they are jerks by honking. They look at you as though you cursed their mother for no obvious reason. I always like to pull out like I don’t see them and brake just before I slam into their driver’s side door. The look on their face gives me that warm and fuzzy feeling that is hard to describe.

The second are those who are waiting for a written invitation to get their butts moving. I’ve often thought about stepping out of my vehicle, walking over to their car and tapping on the window. When they look over at me with that blank stare, and I know they must have THAT blank stare, I will point past the hood of their car and kindly say, “It’s your turn to go.” I might even make up some flyers or business cards that I can hand out. On the front will be the “First in first out” slogan that they can read later. I might even throw in a book mark as I’m assuming they will need one.

Anyway, if you are one of these folks please just remember the simple rule of, First in first out. Otherwise the rest of us normal drivers are going to assume you are suffering from mild retardation. Say it to yourself as you are pulling up to the STOP sign. Look at each car and assign it a number, one being the first to the stop sign, two being the second and so forth. When your number comes up you go. It’s that simple.


Writing:

Another day with little change in the Shaylee: Druid’s Staff word count. There is a reason for that, honest. Mrs. Nay, my critique reader for Plague emailed me a whopping three chapters today. I haven’t gotten a good look at them, but I spent some time merging the three chapters in with the fourteen I have gone over then saving everything to two hard drives and a flash drive. I also skimmed over her comments. I’m looking forward to getting back into Plague, but I’m going to go ahead and finish Shaylee’s tale first as I should have the first draft completed by this weekend.

Shaylee: Druid’s Staff

Word Count: 25,700

Genre: Fantasy

The second novella in the Shaylee series.

Plague

Word Count: 53,400

Genre: Dark Fantasy/Horror

Sword and sorcery dark fantasy novel about a city under siege by zombies. Completed but in final edits.


Reading:

I should have Song of Silver completed by this evening. It’s a nice little collection of stories and I would definately recommend it to anyone who likes to read fantasy tales.

Dreadful Skin by Cherie Priest

I am very much looking forward to reading this next story because so far everything I have read by this author has been fabulous. The book is Dreadful Skin by Cherie Priest. If I finish Song of Silver before the hour gets too late I might just start Mrs. Priest’s novel.

~ by bretjordan on September 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
