Curse You, Gods of Air Conditioning…

Rant:
Reading:


Rant:

Today hasn’t been a good day to stay at home. It’s not bad enough to make me miss work, but it isn’t good either.

Air Conditioning

This afternoon my air conditioner decided that life just wasn’t worth living – this is its second suicide attempt this summer. It blows, but the air ain’t cold. I think all of the ice in the core coolant tank has melted. That or all the Freon (or whatever they use now days) has leaked out. Instead of using a coolant, I wish they would figure out how to make them cool based on humidity – I could start doing ice sculptures with the humidity we have around here.

I suppose I should be thankful. The weather is nice, considering the hot weather in Southeast Texas during this time of the year. Tomorrow it’s supposed to really get better and the highs are only going to be in the eighties. I sure am looking forward to that.

It makes me wonder how miserable life must have been a hundred years ago. Everyone must have stunk to high heaven. Of course, if you never had air conditioning you wouldn’t know any better so it wouldn’t be missed. I miss my air conditioner, but the heat still isn’t as miserable as it was after hurricane Rita. Temperatures around a hundred, cooling off to the mid eighties at night, humid, windless. After three weeks of that this is a cake walk.

Okay, for those keeping score this is how the summer has gone for my family:

  • Hot water heater malfunction: Dripped water from the attic into the utility room and had to be replaced. Made some interesting water patterns on the sheet rock that will also need to be replaced.
  • Air Conditioning: Out of Freon, or whatever is in there. Since it has happened again I imagine there is a leak – and that is the extent of my air conditioning troubleshooting capabilities.
  • Refrigerator broke: Had to have someone come out and replace a part.
  • Mini van lights hosed: Got steering column switch replaced, didn’t fix it so we had to get a relay replaced under the hood – I’m not sure if that should count as two or not.
  • Mini van air conditioning hosed: Of course this had to happen before my wife and I were supposed to go out of town for our anniversary. Again, another trip to the auto shop and another parts replacement.
  • Girl’s Mustang: Oil leak. Out of a vehicle for a week and a healthy bill.
  • Air conditioning pan: Pan rusted out in the attic and flooded the downstairs hallway. For those keeping score on just the air conditioning part of this that is number two.
  • Television: Bulb burned out and had to be replaced. Out of a television for about half a week, but that is okay because I don’t watch it anyway. Nothing on in the living room but Nickelodeon and Disney.
  • Satellite: Down for about three days. It is a mystery as it fixed itself. I just wish more stuff around here had that capability.
  • Squirrels: Yes, I said squirrels. They have decided to nest in the one place in my attic I can’t get to. I wouldn’t mind, but I can hear them chewing on things, and chewing on things in my attic can’t be a good thing. I didn’t want to cover their entrance way just in case I trap one inside or they have little ones in there, but I’m gonna have to figure something out.

Okay, I think that just about covers it. Hopefully I’m running out of things that can go wrong, but that is just the way ‘Murphey’s Law’ goes.


Reading:

Finished Dreadful Skin by Cherie Priest and will start Four and Twenty Blackbirds today, another Cherie Priest novel. By the way, Dreadful Skin was great!

Four and Twenty Blackbirds by Cherie Priest

~ by bretjordan on September 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
