My Very Own “Mrs. Kravitz”…

Observation:
Writing:


Observation:

Gladys Kravitz from Bewitched


Nosy neighbor. Does anyone else have one of these? We are fortunate enough to have our very own “Mrs. Kravitz”. Maybe not everyone knows who I’m talking about, but anyone who watched the old episodes of Bewitched would remember the neighbor across the street who spent a good portion of her time peeping out her window, sometimes with binoculars.


The old lady moved in several years ago and there is nothing, I mean absolutely nothing that happens at my house that she doesn’t know about. UPS drops off a package, we get a call asking what we got. My wife pulls out of the driveway, she gets a call asking where she is going. At 2:00 in the morning, when she first moved in, we got a call about some kids playing in the street. Luckily I knocked the phone off the nightstand while trying to answer it or there may have been tears.


The elderly lady must not have a television as I am almost positive that she sits at her front window and watches the world for at least twelve hours a day. I mean, if you had anything else to do, and I mean anything else, would you watch the grass grow in your neighbor’s yard? It’s really sad and I would have more sympathy for her if she didn’t call and let me know that she is watching my house like a hawk. I mean I don’t do anything weirder than anyone else, so there is very little to see. I don’t even mind her watching my house, family, dog, cats or vehicles, but it does bug me that she feels the need to call my wife and inform her that sees everything we do. At one point it got so bad my wife would wait until after dark to go out front and water the plants because to do it in the daytime assured that her cell phone would ring and “Mrs. Kravitz” would ask her what she was doing.


I have even suggested to my wife that we put web cameras inside our home so she doesn’t miss a damned thing. Heck, I might even put on a little show for her or at least give her a wave every now and again. The only problem is that I would also need to buy her a computer, wireless link and monitor then explain how it all works. I don’t know how many of you folks out there have ever tried to explain how a computer works to anyone over seventy, but it’s not a pleasant thing and requires numerous follow ups. Imagine trying to explain how a microwave works and operates to a caveman. It’s magic, just plain old black magic…

Oh, here’s a side story that I found humorous. About a year after “Mrs. Kravitz” moved in we saw a fire truck parked in front of her house. My wife worried that something was seriously wrong so once the fire truck left she called. “Mrs. Kravitz” had called the fire department because her hot water heater leaked and water was running in her garage. That being the case, I’m wondering if she will call a plumber if her house catches on fire.


Anyway, that is my nosy neighbor. She’s a mild aggravation, but she really doesn’t mean any harm. I think she is just bored and lonely.


Writing:

This weekend has been absolutely horrible as far as writing goes. I had planned to be done with the first draft of Shaylee: Druid’s Staff today, but, as luck would have it, the air conditioning decided to choke all through the weekend. Needless to say I didn’t write down a single word. Sweating and thinking doesn’t really go hand-in-hand. Hopefully by this afternoon, tomorrow at the latest, things will be back to normal. When that happens I will have some catching up to do.

~ by bretjordan on September 27, 2010.

5 Responses to “My Very Own “Mrs. Kravitz”…”

  1. Bret I enjoy reading your blogs here. This reminds me of the little old lady behind us, but she’s a mean *Witch*…..she even called the sheriffs department on my mom for working out in the yard, wanting to know what my mom was doing. The deputy even asked my mom what she was doing and my mom responded that she’s in her own yard doing what she wants and does she ever call them to find out what she’s doing. He agreed with my mom….still to this day, she is so nosy…..so I guess we have a Mrs. Kravitz also….lol
    Thanks for your writings….I enjoy them!

  2. It sounds like your “Mrs. Kravitz” is closer to the original version! The one we have is a nice old lady other than the nosy part, and I could even deal with that if she would’nt call us about each and every thing. It’s gotten so bad that my wife doesn’t answer about 80% of her calls and it’s not at all like my wife to ignore anyone – probably the reason the woman calls all the time in the first place.

    Thanks for the blog comment. I’m glad you’re enjoying my rambling!

  3. Haha, I really enjoy your blogs too, especially the Star Wars Romance one. When I was in highschool I lived next to a “Mrs. Kravitz” for sure. Everytime I came back from a date and lingered in the car for more than 3 minutes she would call the cops on us for acting “indecent”. Heck, I was barely holding hands. And there was the time my sister’s boyfriend put candles on our front porch spelling “Prom?” and our neighbor called the cops reporting an arsonist. I think she should just be a cop!

    • Thank you!

      I don’t like your “Mrs. Kravitz”! Dating was hard enough to bear without any added complications. It sounds like she was beyond cop level, more like gestapo!

    • By the way, Kudos to your sister’s boyfriend. That was a genius idea, very romantic and cool. I think your “Mrs. Kravitz” was just jealous!

Leave a Reply

 
