Motorcycles and Signs…

Personal Life:
Art:
Writing:
Reading:




Personal Life:


Yamaha VStar


The motorcycle is sick again. For anyone who doesn’t know, I have a Yamaha 1100 VStar Classic. I love that motorcycle, but I haven’t gotten a chance to ride it much this summer and with winter just around the corner I doubt I will be doing a great deal of riding in the near future.


I didn’t know that would cause problems, but with motorcycles apparently it does.


The motorcycle got sick about two months ago. Acts like it is starving for gas. I changed the plugs and air filter and gave it a gas treatment. I wouldn’t have snapped to the gas treatment, but somebody told me that if you don’t ride your motorcycle every week it will have a tendency to build up moisture, condensate, within the gas tank. Water and gasoline make for a bad blend. Well, after doing all of that I did manage to get it running again, not as good as it did run, but acceptable.


It’s been about three weeks since I rode it. Not sure if I’m lazy or just stupid, but now it is worse than ever. I even got some high dollar gas treatment in it and it still won’t stay running unless I keep the choke kicked in. I can’t run it with the choke kicked in so I have a major problem now.


I think my motorcycle and I are going through the same stage in life. That wondrous time where you have to be careful of what you eat and if you sit down too long it becomes hard to get up. For instance, there are very few foods that agree with me. Bread I can eat, as long as I don’t add anything to it, and…well, that pretty well sums up my approved foods list. Like me, my motorcycle’s digestive system is sensitive and it gets nothing but super unleaded. The water in the gas is like adding Tabasco sauce. This past week my back went out. Any time I sat for more than fifteen minutes it became a real chore to get up and move again. It looks like the motorcycle is suffering from the same problem. I thought the medicine would be the gas treatment, sort of like an anti-acid tablet. It helped, but not enough to get the thing back up and moving again.


Unfortunately I am a horrible mechanic. I imagine I need to clean out the carburetor and probably change the fuel filter, but I don’t have a clue as to where to begin. It’s friggin’ embarrassing. Being a guy I am expected to be born with a wrench in my hand and a full set of mechanical schematics decorating my brain like wallpaper. I should like being greasy and naturally go around smelling like gasoline. Oddly enough I don’t.


My best friend has these awesome capabilities, but I don’t talk to him very often any more and the only times I do it seems like I always have a mechanical question. I hate that. I wish we wouldn’t have let responsibilities, life and such pull us apart, but it seems like anymore there is always just too much going on to get together. Also, I’m a hermit. Yeah, the hermit thing is also a problem. If I weren’t married I doubt I would ever see much of anyone. Anyway, all that aside, I hate to call him again for yet another mechanical problem. Nope. I suppose I will keep dumping money and time into it until I either tear it up beyond fixing or get it fixed. My money is on it not working by the time I’m done with it. Grrrrrrrr




Art:


MadHatter Confectionery


Today I finished phase one of a project I’m doing for my sister-in-law and niece. They are opening up a confectionery and they needed a sign. I’m a doodler with nothing to doodle at the moment. It was a perfect fit. I took their pencil sketch and put it together as a concept illustration for their sign – blue background with white stripes, in the center is a rabbit in an oval with the name of their business around it. I figured I would use the oval to give them some stationary and an avatar for their Facebook page. So far I’m pretty happy with the way it is coming out.




Writing:


Edits for A Pirate’s Tale today. Hopefully I will have that wrapped up and back to Lady Luck Publishing by tomorrow. Once that is sent off I will be back on Shaylee: Druid’s Staff. Hopefully when I get back to the Shaylee story I can stay with it until it is finished. I’m right at the end of it…right at the end.




Reading:


Wings to the Kingdom by Cherie Priest


I finished reading Four and Twenty Blackbirds by Cherie Priest and began the second book in the Eden Moore Stories entitled Wings to the Kingdom. Four and Twenty Blackbirds was awesome and I highly recommend it.

~ by bretjordan on October 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
