Impulse Buying

I’m one of those people who can’t “Google” my own name on the internet without finding something to purchase.

For instance, today an fellow employee called me on my cell phone. Well, I got a new iPhone and it’s got this neat feature of being able to associate a picture to the caller – I know, that’s nothing new. I didn’t have a picture of the guy, but I didn’t want him to be left out because my nerdly butt has already assigned pictures to each of my contacts.

He is sort of a cowboy, being in Texas about half of everyone is, so I decided to “Google” a cowboy hat. I found one in no time and snapped a picture of it with the phone, another cool feature that is nothing new, then I made the link between picture and caller.

I looked at the cowboy hat again and thought to myself, I wonder how much one of those things costs? Wow, just twenty dollars! I found my mouse twitching toward the “Buy” button. I was seriously friggin’ thinking of buyin’ this thing and I haven’t even considered being a cowboy since I was like ten!

I closed my eyes and slowly backed away. It doesn’t happen often, but every once in a while I catch myself before I commit. God knows I’ve got enough crap in my office without adding a cowboy hat to the pile.

My wife would have like to see me in it though…

NO! I won’t talk myself into searching for it again…I won’t…

Well, maybe just another real quick peak…

~ by bretjordan on March 8, 2011.

2 Responses to “Impulse Buying”

  1. Mr Bret.

    $20 for a hat? It wouldn’t have been just a hat, it would’ve been hats and jeans and shirts and belts and gloves and boots. And maybe some chaps and a nice duster, and a good ranch rope. OH and spurs you’re going to need spurs. And lessons lots of lessons. Maybe you could invest the $20 in a good John Wayne Movie. And tell the Mrs’s about all the money you saved while yall watch the movie.

    Have a great week sir.

  2. Mr. Grant.

    If I got all that I might as well go all out and get a horse…and a cow or two so the horse has something to do…

    I hope you have a great week also!
    ~Bret

Leave a Reply

 
