Control Alt Delete

Ctrl + Alt + Del

The other day a guy I know complained to me about having to press control + Alt + Delete to log into Windows. The conversation went something like this:

The guy, “Tell me, why do I have to press control, alt and delete to log into my computer?”

“Uhhh. I don’t know. You just do.”

We stared at each other.

“Is it a problem?” I ask.

“Nope. Just wonderin’.” He said ‘just wondering’, but the look on his face made it seem more like a major inconvenience.

The guy complains about everything and at this point I’m questioning what he won’t complain about. I wish I had Bill Gates’ phone number so that I could have the guy call him and ask.  I’m sure he wouldn’t be the first one to complain…well, maybe he would. I also wonder if he’s thinking of shortening his name and password. I mean, if hitting control, alt and delete is a pain in the ass then typing his twelve letter name and at least four letter password must be quite a leap. Of course, he is one of those guys you could hand a million dollars and he would gripe because it wasn’t wrapped like a Christmas present.

I could do an auto-login, but then his computer would be open to anyone. I’m sure that would cause another complaint.

Maybe I could make it easier for him – spray paint the keys bright yellow so that they are easier to spot. At this point I remembered something…it wouldn’t matter. He would complain about the shade of yellow, or the way it stands out too much.

No, I think I will suggest he send a letter to Microsoft and let him explain the problem as only he can…

~ by bretjordan on March 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
