Another 7 years of Nick

I’m sure that everyone who has kids can relate to the fact that the television is no longer theirs to control. It starts off with stuff like Blue’s Clues then progresses to The Wiggles and Max and Rubie. As the years go on it evolves into the Rugrats and Spongebob Squarepants then on to Total Drama Island and iCarly.

Is there anything on television for people over thirteen?

The reason I am unsure is that I haven’t seen anything more dignified than iCarly, Drake and Josh, and The Witches of Waverly Place in seventeen years; three groups of kids five years apart, the oldest now almost eighteen and the youngest half-way through her seventh year.

Now, I’m not complaining about having girls, but they watch shows with flavors that aren’t agreeable to my tastes. “Girlie” shows to be exact. Nothing wrong with that, but I’m a guy and if one of my little monkeys were a guy I could then watch shows that would agree with me more. For instance I wouldn’t mind sitting down to an episode or two of Thundercats, the old Dungeons & Dragons cartoon or even Transformers. That there is good wholesome guy entertainment for sure.

Unfortunately I have every damned episode of Spongebob Squarepants memorized. I can’t help it, I’ve seen each show no less than five times. Most of them were even funny the first three times, but enough is enough.

Anyway, I am guessing that I can reclaim the television again in approximately seven years.

Everyone keep your fingers crossed.

~ by bretjordan on April 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
