Superworms

For my birthday this past September I got a bearded dragon. He/she was a tiny thing, about as big around as my index finger and not much longer. Well, it’s three months later and the lizard is a real handful, and when I say handful I mean he fills up my entire palm with his head sticking out one side and his tail drooping over the other. That is fantastic, except that his appetite is huge. I’m having to go to the pet store every week or so and buy him 100 superworms.

I hate going to the pet store, though I suppose it’s not the pet store in itself that I hate, it’s the traffic in that part of town. That being the case I got online and looked up how to raise my own superworms. My first thought was from the movie Dumb and Dumber when they were going to start a worm store called “I got Worms”. With a quick look at a couple of websites I had a game plan. The whole process is easier than I thought so I got everything I needed and got started.

First you got to separate the superworms you want to breed into their own separate containers. Easy enough. Next you got to wait and after a week or so most of them will curl into a “C” shape. Another week or so and they metamorphosis into pupae.

That’s where I am now, a tackle box full of pupae. They are alien looking and if you open the top they stink like nobody’s business. Needless to say I ain’t opening the top till I have to. The one time I did it is regrettable.

Next they will become beetles, mate, lay eggs and then the process will start all over again.

At this point it is an experiment. If it works out I my continue with it and save myself a little money and lots of trips to the pet store.

The wife wasn’t too happy about the idea. Actually, she wasn’t too happy about the idea of having them in the house to feed the lizard, but the idea of raising worms really went to the next level.

Somebody’s got to do it and it might as well be me.

My novel, Plague, is now available as a paperback novel. Yep, paperback. Also with the paperback version you get some fantastic pen and ink artwork by Alex McVey, Tom Moran, Brandon Layng, and myself. So if you get a chance stop by Amazon and have a look.

~ by bretjordan on November 26, 2011.

2 Responses to “Superworms”

  1. awesome!

  2. lol my exwife almost divorced me even sooner for the exact same thing

Leave a Reply

 
