College

College

My kids started school today. I am currently the proud parent of a 3rd grader, an 8th grader, and two college freshmen.

College freshmen!

What the hell?

It seems like it wasn’t all that long ago that I was a college freshman, with that butterflies in the stomach first day feeling. Wondering if I’m gonna find the correct class, the right books, the proper supplies. The anticipation of meeting new teachers, and new friends. The excitement of college mixed with a little dread as I anticipated the semester to come.

Now my kids are going through that, though I imagine that they will be a lot better at it than I was. They like school and excel at it, where I just found it time consuming and a distraction from things I would rather be doing.

It’s just hard to believe that I have kids in college.

I’m officially an ‘old guy’!

Does anyone else ever have that dream? You know, the one where you are at your first day in college and you have no idea of where your classes are, don’t have your books, and have no idea which locker is yours. Yeah, I have that dream every once in a while. I have that one except when I have it I dream it’s mid-term and I’ve skipped so many classes that I can’t remember what my schedule was! I’m afraid to ask anyone for fear of looking like a complete fool.

Unfortunately, by my last real semester this dream was darned close to being a reality. Like I said, I’ve never been very studious.

Anyway, it’s my kids turn, but I think they will do okay. Heck, they’ll probably enjoy it. They liked high school, and college is a lot like high school, except the teachers aren’t there to hold your hand.

I’m looking forward to getting home and listening to their ‘first day of school’ stories. Hopefully it won’t bring back any bad memories or dreams. I say that, but there were a lot of good times too, and some pretty funny stories that I’ll probably never share with my daughters. 🙂

Clockwork Dwarf Clockwork Dwarf – Available at Amazon for the Kindle

~ by bretjordan on August 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
