It’s Review Time Again…

Office Space

In the last quarter of every year we get a self evaluation form to fill out at work. There are questions like:

  • What do you think you do for a living?
  • What things have made your job bearable?
  • What new things have you done that doesn’t waste your time or our money?
  • What’s the niftiest thing you did last year?
  • How could you have done that nifty thing better?
  • What sort of ultra-nifty things do you have planned for next year?
  • What would make you happy?
  • Got something to say?

I’m not fond of these questions because it makes me look back to the last year and try to remember what all I did, and my memory just isn’t that good any more. I know I was awesome, I just can’t remember why.

This past year I took notes. HA! That’ll show ‘em. Unfortunately most of the notes were little quarter-sentence word jots that would need a Dick Tracy decoder ring to figure out what was meant at the time. So, I’ve had to rely on my memory. Needless to say there was a lot of BS thrown about, but trust me – I was awesome.

So, in a nutshell, here’s how it went…

Work Performance Review 2012

  • 1. What do you think you do for a living?
    I think I sit at a desk and make user interface applications for our plant operators, and managers. I do this job and try not to stare out the window wishing I were elsewhere. I perform this task while staying off of Facebook, though the temptation is an ever present evil. That solitaire thing’s pretty tempting too.
  • 2. What things have made your job bearable?
    Sometimes there are donuts.
  • 3. What new things have you done that doesn’t waste your time or our money?
    The coffee you drank that last week in December – I made that, and it was good.
  • 4. What’s the niftiest thing you did last year?
    Didn’t I mention the coffee? It was really good.
  • 5. How could you have done that nifty thing better?
    A splash of Irish whiskey would have improved it a great deal, and boosted morale at the same time.
  • 6. What sort of ultra-nifty things do you have planned for next year?
    Could I still do the Irish whiskey thing?
  • 7. What would make you happy?
    The Irish whiskey thing without the coffee…oh, and a larger cup.
  • 8. Got something to say?
    I need a bigger window in my office.

Legal Notice: On the off chance that a co-worker reads this, or God forbid, the wonderful HR person, I just want to say that this is all written for it’s humorous aspect…mostly…yeah, mostly…

Clockwork Dwarf Clockwork Dwarf – Available at Amazon for the Kindle

~ by bretjordan on October 12, 2012.

2 Responses to “It’s Review Time Again…”

  1. The coffee okay, the added liquor, not so much!! You need to take more notes this year!! LOL : )

    • Nearly every day I took notes this year, just not good ones. Little one line things without grammar, punctuation, or spelling. What I need to do is take more care with my notes when I feel that I’ve done something really important – like make Starbucks flavored coffee!

Leave a Reply

 
